Who Won At The London Cycling Awards?

By Londonist Last edited 30 months ago
Who Won At The London Cycling Awards?

Londonist is media partner to the London Cycling Awards.

The London Cycling Awards took place on Friday night hosted by Spin London at the Truman Brewery. The gongs were presented by comedian Michael Smiley — including the hotly contested category of Best Bike Shop, won by Brixton Cycles.

Brixton Cycles
The team from Brixton Cycles with (far right) awards host Michael Smiley.

London Cycling Campaign CEO, Ashok Sinha, said:

"What better way to celebrate this than to honour some of those whose vim and vigour, innovation and determination, has helped to make this happen? From highway engineers to museum curators, entrepreneurs to community workers, they have all made a sterling contribution to the vitality and zest of London’s cycling culture. We salute their achievements in this year’s London Cycling Awards."

The winners

Best Cycling Project

Roadworks Patrol
Santander Bike Hire app

Pro-cycling Business of the Year

WINNER: Mercedes-Benz Trucks
Addison Lee
Crouch End Picturehouse

Best Cycle Innovation/

Noke Bluetooth D-lock
Mando Footloose IM

Best Product

WINNER: Mason x Hunt 4season Disc Wheelset
Schwalbe One road tubeless tyres
Lezyne Hecto Drive 300XL
Bern Allston/Melrose helmets

Best Urban Cycle Clothing Range

WINNER: Howies

Community Project of the Year

WINNER: Brothers on Bikes
This Girl can BMX
Core Arts

London Cycling Campaign CEO Ashok Sinha with Andrew Gilligan.

Best Borough Infrastructure Scheme

WINNER: Tavistock Place, Camden
Lea Bridge Road, Waltham Forest
Portsmouth Road, Kingston

Best Large-Scale Infrastructure Scheme

WINNER: East-West Cycle Superhighway
North-South Cycle Superhighway
Cycle Superhighway 5

Cycling Champion of the Year

WINNER: Councillor Clyde Loakes
Clare Rogers
Andrew Gilligan

Best Cycling Event

WINNER: Cycle Revolution at the Design Museum
Six Day London
Cycle Speed Dating

Best Bike Shop

WINNER: Brixton Cycles
Condor Cycles
Brick Lane Bikes
Sigma Sport

A special trophy was also awarded to Andrew Gilligan for his outstanding contribution to cycling in London.

Last Updated 23 May 2016