Hampstead Heath's crowning glory has reopened after 18 months of closure for renovation. Kenwood House, on a hill to the north of the Heath, is free to visit and contains a broad and remarkable collection of art, including works by Rembrandt and Vermeer.
The house in its current form dates back to the 1760s, when starchitect Robert Adam remodelled the building for the 1st Earl Mansfield. It eventually passed to the Earl of Iveagh who made his millions from brewing Guinness, then bequeathed the house and 63 paintings to the nation in 1927.
A £6 million restoration plan, overseen by English Heritage, has provided the building with much-needed repairs, a fresh coat of paint and a lift to improve accessibility. The interior has also been spruced up with period furniture and new carpets.
While you're there, be sure to explore the grounds and, just outside to the east, the magnificent views that arguably surpass the more famous vantage point of nearby Parliament Hill.
London Historians has a more detailed account of the recent restoration work.
Kenwood House is open from today (28 November) 10am-5pm. Admission is free. All images copyright English Heritage/Charles Hosea.