The Boundaries Are A'Changing

By BethPH Last edited 90 months ago
The Boundaries Are A'Changing

Boundary Commission for England proposals for changes across the UK will leave London with five fewer constituencies, according to their report.

The capital currently has 73 constituencies spread across three sub-regions but this will go down to 68 under the new proposals. This is how it will work:

North East London - reduction from 20 to 19
(Barking and Dagenham, Enfield, Hackney, Haringey, Havering, Newham, Redbridge, Tower Hamlets, and Waltham Forest)

North, West, and Central London - reduction from 25 to 24
(Barnet, Brent, Camden, Ealing,Hammersmith and Fulham, Harrow, Hillingdon, Hounslow, Islington, Kensington and Chelsea, Richmond upon Thames, Westminster, and the City of London)

South London - reduction from 27 to 25
(Bexley, Bromley, Croydon, Greenwich, Kingston upon Thames, Lambeth, Lewisham, Merton, Southwark, Sutton, and Wandsworth)

The government announced last year that they planned to reduce the number of MPs by cutting constituencies and work has been underway to determine where the cuts would occur. According to Parliament rules, a constituency must have an electorate no less than 72,810 and no more than 80,473. London's boroughs aren't all quite that conveniently-arranged so the BCE has had to do a bit of juggling.

So, only four constituencies will retain their current form; two in Tower Hamlets and two in Barnet. The others will all contain parts of two boroughs or less except for the City of London which will be included with Holborn and Covent Garden and King’s Cross.

To find out more about how your borough could be affected, see the full report here. To add your views on the proposals, visit the Boundary Commission for England's website.

Last Updated 12 September 2011