Have Your Say in the Theatregoers' Choice Awards

By Zoe Craig Last edited 120 months ago
Have Your Say in the Theatregoers' Choice Awards

Hairspray won seven Theatregoers' Choice Awards
We're in the midst of Theatreland's awards season. The Evening Standard have given out theirs, we're still waiting to be told what the critics think, and we're saving the best til last with the Oliviers.

The Theatregoers' Choice Awards, however, are your chance to have a say about who and what has particularly blown you away, dramatically speaking, this year.

The shortlist of nominations is here. So when we say "have your say", we're really saying you get to vote on someone from that list. We're afraid to say you can no more vote for your mate who was particularly good in that play upstairs at the Latchmere than you could vote for them to become PM tomorrow. Sorry.

But before you go griping about "them" and "their" restrictive choices, we're here to tell how the Theatregoers' Choice Awards works. 'Tis the public who nominate their fave actors, productions and directors - across 25 categories - deserving nomination for an award for their work in Theatreland this year. Just so you know.

We're pleased to see the hard work put in by good actors cast in theatrical turkeys given recognition (Darius in Gone With The Wind, a couple of nominations for Imagine This), and less snobbish nods to brilliant feel-good musicals like Never Forget, Zorro and Eurobeat, which we're not sure will get a mention in the upcoming Critics Choice awards.

And anything that gives props to Rupert Goold and his Six Characters in Search of an Author, by far the most exciting and terrifying thing we've seen in the West End for a long time, is fine by us.

Around 25,000 people voted in last year's awards (Hairspray won seven); you have until the end of January to become one of this year's voters.

Even if you just make a click in a couple of categories, you'll still be in with the chance of winning a year's free theatregoing. Not bad...

The Theatregoers' Choice Awards: voting closes on 31 January.

Last Updated 07 January 2009