London Restaurant Festival Awards 2016: The Winners

Helen Graves
By Helen Graves Last edited 26 months ago

Looks like this article is a bit old. Be aware that information may have changed since it was published.

London Restaurant Festival Awards 2016: The Winners
Padella's cacio e pepe won dish of the year.

Many of our favourite restaurants took home awards at last night's London Restaurant Festival ceremony. We were thrilled to see Padella win 'dish of the year' for their cacio e pepe (read our review here), while there was plenty of recognition for London's new Thai restaurant scene, as Ben Chapman claimed the prize for best newcomer (Smoking Goat and Kiln) and Som Saa took home the prize for restaurant of the year 2016. See the full list of winners below (shortlistees in brackets).

Best Festival Menu under £25: Cinnamon Kitchen

(Almeida, Foxlow Clerkenwell, Orso Covent Garden)

Best Festival Menu over £25: Treadwell’s

(STK, Hawksmoor Air Street, Galvin at Windows)

Most popular Festival Menu: Oxo Tower Brasserie

(Hakkasan Hanway Place, Hutong, M Victoria Street)

Most welcoming Front of House: Jordan Freida, Trullo and Padella

(Will Lander - Clipstone and Portland, Paisley Tara-Kennett –Noble Rot, Team Zedel)

Best Interior Design: Spring

(Bao Fitzrovia, Fera, Kiln)

Best Restaurant Bar: 45 Jermyn St.

(The Clove Club, Smoking Goat, Sosharu)

Best Wine Event: Leyda at Inamo Covent Garden

(Cecchi at Crab Tavern, Chivate at Barrafina, Ferrari at The Sanderson)

The brunch fried chicken sandwich at Chick n Sours.

Maverick of the Year: Carl Clarke, Chick N Sours

(Freddie Janssen – Lyle's and FAT, Camilla Fayed, James Ramsden and Sam Herlihy - Pidgin)

Wine Idol: P Franco

(Dan Keeling and Mark Andrew – Noble Rot, 10 Cases, Ed Wilson - Brawn)

Dish of the Year: Pici cacio e pepe, Padella

(Deep fried sea bass – Som Saa, black cod bao – Bao Fitzrovia, squid ink flatbread – Black Axe Mangal)

Newcomer of the Year: Ben Chapman, Smoking Goat and Kiln

(Selin Kiazim – Oklava, Marianna Leivaditaki - Morito Hackney Road, Tim Spedding – P Franco)

Ben Chapman collects his award.

Outstanding Contribution to the Restaurant Industry: Sam and Sam Clarke, Moro and Morito

Chef of the Year: Merlin Labron-Johnson, Portland, Clipstone

(Adam Byatt – Trinity, Eyal Jagermann – The Barbay, Tim Siadatan – Trullo and Padella)

Restaurant of the Year 2016: Som Saa

(Lyle's, Noble Rot, Padella)

Last Updated 08 November 2016